Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Media Release from Senator the Hon Jonathon Duniam, Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries

•    Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) Commission Chairperson Ms Helen Kroger reappointed for a five-year term, beginning 1 July 2022.
•    AFMA Commissioner Ms Catherine Cooper reappointed for 12 months.

The Chairperson of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) Commission has been reappointed for a five-year term.

Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia David Littleproud and Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries Jonno Duniam said the reappointment of Ms Helen Kroger as the AFMA chair was great news for Australia’s fisheries industry.

“Ms Kroger was first appointed in 2017, and she has been a steady hand since then,” Minister Littleproud said.

“The commission has been performing well and meeting its corporate objectives under Ms Kroger’s leadership.

“She has also overseen the selection and start of both a new CEO and four new part-time commissioners in 2019.

“It is a big win for the AFMA to have someone of her calibre protecting one of our most important industries.”

Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries Jonno Duniam said the vital role of the AFMA Commission meant a strong performer was needed.

“The AFMA Commission is responsible for protecting Australia’s fishing industry and the environment,” Assistant Minister Duniam said.

“The commission makes sure that valuable fish resources are not undermined by illegal fishing activity, while doing what they can to reduce the risk of commercial, recreational and Indigenous fishing impacting the health of the marine environment.

“I cannot understate the importance of this commission, and I want to congratulate Ms Kroger for what I’m sure will be another successful term.

“I also want to congratulate Ms Catherine Cooper, who has been reappointed as an AFMA Commissioner for a further 12 months until 30 June 2023.”