On this page

    Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES)
    ABARES is a research organisation within the Department of Agriculture. ABARES provide independent research, analysis and advice for government and private sector decision-makers on significant issues affecting Australia’s agriculture, fisheries and forestry industries.


    Border Protection Command (BPC)
    BPC coordinates national awareness and response efforts to protect Australia’s interests in the Australian Maritime Domain, including fisheries interests. BPC is a multi-agency taskforce which utilises assets assigned from Australian Customs and Border Protection Service and the Department of Defence to conduct civil maritime operations and is the primary government law enforcement organisation in the Australian Maritime Domain.


    CSIRO Division of Marine and Atmospheric Research
    CSIRO Division of Marine and Atmospheric Research houses Australia’s leading regional climate change modelling research teams and aims to advance Australian climate, marine and earth systems science.


    Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
    The Department of Agriculture and Water Resources develops and implements policies and programs that ensure Australia’s agricultural, fisheries, food and forestry industries remain competitive, profitable and sustainable. The department is AFMA’s portfolio department.


    Department of the Environment
    The department is responsible for implementing the Australian Government’s policies to protect our environment and heritage, and to promote a sustainable way of life.


    Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (FRDC)
    The FRDC is Australia’s leading agency concerned with planning, investing in, and managing fisheries research, development and extension.


    National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (NOPSEMA)
    NOPSEMA is a Commonwealth statutory agency regulating the health and safety, structural integrity and environmental management of all offshore petroleum facilities in Commonwealth waters, and in coastal waters where state powers have been conferred.

    New South Wales Department of Primary Industries – Fisheries and Aquaculture
    The New South Wales Department of Primary Industries works to develop and sustain diverse, profitable food and fibre industries and ensures best practice management of our natural resources. The fisheries division develops, shares and protects the state’s fisheries resources through fisheries management, science and research, sustainable aquaculture development, habitat protection and regulation. It includes the Marine Parks Authority.

    Northern Territory’s Department of Resources – Fisheries 
    The Department of Resources is responsible for facilitating industry development in these three vital economic sectors, ensuring the optimal use of the territory’s fisheries, primary industries, mineral and energy resources. The fisheries division of the Department of Resources works to conserve, sustainably develop and share the NT’s fish and aquatic resources to benefit both current and future generations.

    Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
    The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority is responsible for managing the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park so it’s protected for the future. The organisation provides a number of other services to protect and manage the Reef ranging from issuing permits, providing advice on marine management, and operating their education centre.


    Queensland’s Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
    The Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry  Queensland provides expertise and support to assist the state’s food and fibre industries to increase productivity and profitability, improve sustainability, grow markets and adapt to change. The department is committed to delivering world-class research and development, providing leadership on industry policy, protecting industries against pests, diseases and maintaining animal welfare standards, managing fisheries sustainably and maximising the value of state-owned forests.


    Torres Strait Protected Zone Joint Authority (PZJA)
    The PZJA is responsible for the management of commercial and traditional fishing in the Australian area of the Torres Strait Protected Zone and designated adjacent Torres Strait waters.  The PZJA comprises the Commonwealth Minister for Agriculture, the Queensland Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and the Chair of the Torres Strait Regional Authority.

    Department of Primary Industries and Regions South Australia (PIRSA)
    PIRSA is a key economic development agency within the South Australian Government with the vision of growing sustainable and competitive regions. PIRSA is committed to the sustainable use of the State’s agriculture, wine, seafood, forestry, and food industries along with the provision of associated research, regulation, policy development and biosecurity imperatives.

    Tasmania’s Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment – Sea Fishing and Aquaculture
    The Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment is responsible for the sustainable management and protection of Tasmania’s natural and cultural assets for the benefit of Tasmanian communities and the economy. The department manages recreational and commercial sea fisheries and has a strong focus on marine education and promoting public awareness of sustainable fisheries practices. Marine farming is also regulated by the department and has expanded rapidly in Tasmania in the past decade to become one of Tasmania’s major industries.

    Coastlinks Victoria
    The Coastlinks site has been established to serve as a single entry point coastal and marine portal for Victoria aiming to improve awareness of coastal and marine values, issues and management. Coastlinks improves sharing and access to coastal and marine information and databases for the community and government agencies as well as facilitates coordination to ensure an integrated approach is taken in planning and managing Victoria’s coast and marine waters.


    Victoria’s Department of Primary Industries 
    The Department of Primary Industries Victoria is responsible for agriculture, fisheries, earth resources, energy and forestry in Victoria. The department designs and delivers government policies and programs that enable Victoria ‘s primary and energy industries to sustainably maximise the wealth and wellbeing they generate, by providing essential goods and services, employment, investment and recreational opportunities.


    Victoria’s Department of Sustainability and Environment
    The Department of Sustainability and Environment Victoria leads the Victorian Government’s efforts to sustainably manage water resources and catchments, climate change, bushfires, parks and other public land, forests, biodiversity and ecosystem conservation.

    Western Australia’s Department of Fisheries 

    The Western Australian Department of Fisheries is primarily responsible for the conservation, development and management of fish and aquatic resources of Western Australia to ensure there are ‘fish for the future’.  The department does this through managing and licensing commercial and recreational fishing activities and protecting the aquatic environment and ecosystems on which fish depend.

    Did you find what you were looking for?
    Page last updated: 17/02/2023