The South East Management Advisory Committee is the overarching committee that provides management advice to AFMA for the following fisheries:

  • Southern and Eastern Scalefish and Shark Fishery (including the Gillnet Hook and Trap Sector and the South Eastern Trawl Sector)
  • Small Pelagic Fishery
  • Southern Squid Jig Fishery

SEMAC provides management advice to the AFMA Commission and AFMA management on efficient and cost effective fisheries management, and provides an avenue for consultation between industry, policy, conservation, state and territory governments, recreational and research fields.

SEMAC receives scientific advice from the Southern and Eastern Scalefish and Shark Fishery Resource Assessment group, Squid Resource Assessment Group, Small Pelagic Fishery Scientific Panel and Stakeholder Forums, Shelf Resource Assessment Group, Slope Resource Assessment Group and the Shark Resource Assessment Group. The committee uses this scientific advice to inform their management advice.

Next meeting

The date of the next meeting will be confirmed soon - June/July 2020.

2020 meetings

SEMAC 39 meeting minutes

2019 meetings

November 2019

SEMAC 38 meeting minutes

May 2019

SEMAC 37 meeting minutes

February 2019

SEMAC 36 meeting minutes

2018 meetings

October 2018

SEMAC 35 meeting minutes

July 2018

SEMAC 34 meeting minutes

February 2018

SEMAC 33 meeting minutes

SEMAC 32 meeting minutes

2017 meetings

November 2017

SEMAC 31 meeting minutes

August 2017

SEMAC 30 meeting minutes

February 2017

SEMAC 29 meeting minutes

January 2017

SEMAC 28 meeting minutes

*note if you require a hard copy or accessible version ofthe SEMAC meeting minutes please contact AFMA 02 6225 5555.

Current research priorities

Further information on the current research priorities for the Southern and Eastern Scalefish and Shark Fishery, the Small Pelagic Fishery and the Southern Squid Jig Fishery can be found under the ‘Fishery Publications’ tab of each fisheries web page.

Past meetings

Past decisions and outcomes can be found on the South East Management Advisory Committee past meetings page.


Members are appointed for the period 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2022

  • Dr David McGlennon, Chair
  • Mr George Day, AFMA member
  • Dr Michael Steer, research member
  • Ms Anissa Lawrence, environment/conservation member
  • Mr Simon Boag, industry member
  • Mr Will Mures, industry member
  • Mr Gerry Geen, industry member
  • Mr Shane Dugins, industry member
  • Ms Debbie Wisby, invited industry participant
  •  TBC invited state government participant
  • Dr Sarah Jennings, scientific member-economics


Committee contact

To be confirmed
Executive Officer
Tel: TBC