On this page

    The Shark Resource Assessment Group is one of the research and scientific committees which contributes to the management of the Gillnet, Hook and Trap Sector of the Southern and Eastern Scalefish and Shark Fishery.

    The group provides advice to AFMA and the South East Management Advisory Committee on the status of shark stocks, sub stocks, species (target and non-target), the impact of shark fishing on the marine environment and the type of information needed for stock assessments. They also evaluate the impact over time of different harvest strategies, stock depletion and recovery rates, confidence levels for fishery assessments and risks to the success of fishery objectives. Compliance and economic factors affecting the fishery are also evaluated and reported on by the group.

    This group provides an avenue for consultation between industry members, fishery managers, fishery economists, fishery scientists, conservationists and other interest groups.

    • review of the school shark close kin assessment
    • recommendation of a RBC for elephantfish for the 2020–21, 2021–22 and 2022–23 fishing seasons
    • review of the school shark rebuilding strategy.

    Download the most recent meeting minutes on the Shark Resource Assessment Group meetings page.

    The next meeting will be held early November 2022.

    • Development and implementation of a school shark index of abundance
    • Environmental Risk Assessment for the shark hook fishing method (manual and auto-baiting)
    • Measures to mitigate dolphin bycatch in gillnets
    • Support monitoring of population size and trends for dolphins and Australian sea lions.

    Past minutes, recommendations and advice can be found on the Shark Resource Assessment Group past meetings page.

    Members are appointed for the period 1 July 2019 until 31 December 2022.

    • Mr Sandy Morison, Chair
    • Dr Robin Thomson, scientific member
    • Dr Andrew Penney, scientific member
    • Dr Charlie Huveneers, scientific member
    • Dr Julian Morison, economic member
    • Mr Kyri Toumazos, industry member
    • Mr Jamie Papas, industry member
    • Mr Craig Harris, industry member
    • Mr Leigh Castle, industry member
    • Ms Anissa Lawrence, conservation member
    • Dr Lara Ainley, AFMA member

    Roshan Hanamseth
    Executive Officer
    Tel: 03 5155 6420    
    Email: roshan.hanamseth@afma.gov.au

    Did you find what you were looking for?
    Page last updated: 17/02/2023