The Shark Resource Assessment Group is one of the research and scientific committees which contributes to the management of the Gillnet, Hook and Trap Sector of the Southern and Eastern Scalefish and Shark Fishery.

The group provides advice to AFMA and the South East Management Advisory Committee on the status of shark stocks, sub stocks, species (target and non-target), the impact of shark fishing on the marine environment and the type of information needed for stock assessments. They also evaluate the impact over time of different harvest strategies, stock depletion and recovery rates, confidence levels for fishery assessments and risks to the success of fishery objectives. Compliance and economic factors affecting the fishery are also evaluated and reported on by the group.

This group provides an avenue for consultation between industry members, fishery managers, fishery economists, fishery scientists, conservationists and other interest groups.

Recent discussion topics

  • review of the school shark close kin assessment
  • recommendation of a RBC for elephantfish for the 2020-21, 2021-22 and 2022-23 fishing seasons
  • review of the school shark rebuilding strategy

Download the most recent meeting minutes on the Shark Resource Assessment Group meetings page.

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held 5-7 October 2021.

Current research priorities

  • Development and implementation of a school shark index of abundance
  • Environmental Risk Assessment for the shark hook fishing method (manual and auto-baiting)
  • Measures to mitigate dolphin bycatch in gillnets
  • Support monitoring of population size and trends for dolphins and Australian sea lions.

Past meetings

Past minutes, recommendations and advice can be found on the Shark Resource Assessment Group past meetings page.


Members are appointed for the period 1 July 2019 until 30 June 2022.

  • Mr Sandy Morison, Chair
  • Dr Ian Knuckey, scientific member
  • Dr Charlie Huveneers, scientific member
  • Dr Robin Thomson, scientific member
  • Mr Craig Harris, industry member
  • My Leigh Castle, industry member
  • Mr Kyri Toumazos, industry member
  • Mr Jamie Papas, industry member
  • Dr Julian Morison, economic member
  • Conservation member, TBC
  • Ms Sally Weekes, AFMA member


Ms. Lou Cathro

Executive Officer
Tel: 02 6225 5512     

 E: louise.cathro [at]