The Sub-Antarctic Resource Assessment Group is the key research and scientific committee for management of the Heard Island and McDonald Islands Fishery and Macquarie Island Toothfish Fishery.

The group provides advice to the Sub-Antarctic Management Advisory Committee on the status of fish stocks, sub stocks, species (target and non-target), the impact of fishing on the marine environment and the type of information needed for stock assessments. They also evaluate the impact over time of different harvest strategies, stock depletion and recovery rates, confidence levels for fishery assessments and risks to the success of fishery objectives. Compliance and economic factors affecting the fishery are also evaluated and reported on by the group.

This group provides an avenue for consultation between industry members, fishery managers, fishery economists, fishery scientists and other interest groups.

Recent discussion topics

  • Fishery Assessment Plans.
  • Extension of Macquarie Island Toothfish Fishery longline season.
  • Skate and Ray handling guide

Download the February 2018 meeting minutes (PDF, 304 KB).

Next meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for August 2018.

Current research priorities

  • Stock assessment and management strategy evaluation for sub-Antarctic fisheries 2015-16
  • Development of robust assessment methods and harvest strategies for spatially complex, multi-jurisdictional toothfish fisheries in the Southern Ocean
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands Fishery random stratified trawl survey
  • Development of management strategy evaluation for the Macquarie Island Toothfish Fishery.

Past meetings

Past minutes, recommendations and advice can be found on the Sub-Antarctic Resource Assessment Group past meetings page.


Members are appointed for the period 1 July 2016 until 30 June 2019.

  • Professor John Buckeridge, Chair
  • Ms Jo Fisher, AFMA member
  • Dr Dirk Welsford, scientific member
  • Dr Philippe Ziegler, scientific member
  • Dr Malcolm Haddon, scientific member
  • Dr Rich Hillary, scientific member
  • Mr Malcolm McNeill, industry  member
  • Mr Martin Exel, industry  member
  • Ms Heather Patterson, government observer


Sarah Kirkcaldie
Executive Officer
Tel: 02 6225 5555